A Complete List of Tamil Nadu Chief Ministers All Time

Tamil Nadu has a rich history with many chief ministers who have served the state. This complete list of Tamil Nadu chief ministers all time is a tribute to those leaders who have dedicated their time and efforts to the people of Tamil Nadu.

The State of Tamil Nadu is divided into 23 districts, out of which, 20 are districts and 3 are taluks. The districts are further sub-divided into more than 3000 revenue villages and towns. Tamil Nadu has a total of 52 municipalities, 8 municipal corporations, 10 municipal councils and 15 town panchayats.

The list of chief ministers Tamil Nadu includes the year each chief minister began serving and the year they left office. In this article, we have shared a List of Chief Ministers of Tamil Nadu with Party Names.

How is the Chief Minister Elected?

The process of electing a Chief Minister in India is a complex one, involving various steps and procedures. The election of a Chief Minister is an important event, as the individual who is chosen will be responsible for leading the state government. The process of electing a Chief Minister begins with the selection of candidates by the political parties. These candidates then compete in a race to win the majority of votes from the state legislature.

Facilities Given to the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister

The Tamil Nadu Chief Minister is given a number of facilities, some of which are specified below. These facilities are meant to help the Chief Minister carry out his or her duties effectively. The first facility is an office, which is located in the state Secretariat in Chennai. The office is spacious and has all the necessary equipment, including computers and telephones. In addition, the office has a separate room for the Chief Minister’s secretary. There are some more other facilities that a CM gets.

Pre Independence:

Tamil Nadu had a total of 44 chief ministers (CMs) all-time since its formation in 1950. From them, 16 have been from the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), 15 from the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), and 8 from the Indian National Congress (INC). The current CM is Edappadi K.

Post Independence:

Tamil Nadu is a state in southern India. It was formed on January 26, 1950, when the states of Madras and Mysore were merged. The first Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu was C. Rajagopalachari, who served from January 26, 1950 to March 2, 1954. The current Chief Minister is Edappadi K. Palaniswami, who has served since February 16, 2017.

Salary of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister

In Tamil Nadu, the Chief Minister is the head of the government and the most important executive authority. The salary of a Chief Minister in Tamil Nadu is Rs. 2.5 lakhs per month. The Chief Minister is also provided with a bungalow, an official car, and other allowances.

First Woman Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

In 1991, J. Jayalalithaa became the first woman to be appointed as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. She served four terms in this post. Here is a complete list of all Chief Ministers of Tamil Nadu, since the formation of the state in 1950:

List of Chief Ministers Tamil Nadu

Below is the complete latest list of Chief Ministers (CM) of Tamil Nadu for all time. In the given list you can see the details like Tamil Nadu Ministers List 2022, if you wanted to download a complete list then you can also avail the Tamil Nadu Chief Ministers List PDF.

S.No.Chief MinisterFromToParty Name
1M.K.Stalin07 May 2021PresentDMK
2Edappadi K. Palaniswami16 Feb 201703 May 2021AIADMK
3O. Panneerselvam06 Dec 201615 Feb 2017AIADMK
4J. Jayalalithaa24 May 201604 Dec 2016AIADMK
5J. Jayalalithaa23 May 201523 May 2016AIADMK
6O. Panneerselvam29 Sep 201422 May 2015AIADMK
7J. Jayalalithaa16 May 201127 Sep 2014AIADMK
8M. Karunanidhi13 May 200615 May 2011DMK
9J. Jayalalithaa02 Mar 200212 May 2006AIADMK
10O. Panneerselvam21 Sep 200101 Mar 2002AIADMK
11J. Jayalalithaa14 May 200121 Sep 2001AIADMK
12M. Karunanidhi13 May 199613 May 2001DMK
13J. Jayalalithaa24 Jun 199113 May 1996AIADMK
14President’s rule30 Jan 199124 Jun 1991DMK
15M. Karunanidhi27 Jan 198930 Jan 1991DMK
16President’s rule30 Jan 198827 Jan 1989
17Janaki Ramachandran07 Jan 198830 Jan 1988AIADMK
18V.R. Nedunchezhiyan24 Dec 198707 Jan 1988AIADMK
19M. G. Ramachandran10 Feb 198524 Dec 1987AIADMK
20M. G. Ramachandran09 Jun 198015 Nov 1984AIADMK
21President’s rule17 Feb 198009 Jun 1980
22M. G. Ramachandran01 Jul 197717 Feb 1980AIADMK
23President’s rule31 Jan 197630 Jun 1977
24M. Karunanidhi15 Mar 197131 Jan 1976DMK
25M. Karunanidhi10 Feb 196904 Jan 1971DMK
26V.R. Nedunchezhiyan03 Feb 196910 Feb 1969DMK
27C. N. Annadurai01 Mar 196703 Feb 1969DMK
28C. N. Annadurai06 Mar 196714 Jan 1969DMK
29M. Bakthavatsalam02 Oct 196306 Mar 1967INC
30K. Kamaraj15 Mar 196202 Oct 1963INC
31K. Kamaraj13 Apr 195701 Mar 1962INC
32K. Kamaraj13 Apr 195431 Mar 1957INC
33C. Rajagopalachari10 Apr 195213 Apr 1954INC
34P. S. Kumaraswamy Raja26 Jan 195010 Apr 1952INC
35P. S. Kumaraswamy Raja06 Apr 194926 Jan 1950INC
36O. P. Ramaswamy Reddiyar23 Mar 194706 Apr 1949INC
37Tanguturi Prakasam30 Apr 194623 Mar 1947INC
38Governor’s Rule29 Oct 193930 Apr 1946INC
39C. Rajagopalachari14 Jul 193729 Oct 1939INC
40Kurma Venkata Reddy Naidu01 Apr 193714 Jul 1937Interim provisional ministry
41Raja of Bobbili24 Aug 193601 Apr 1937Justice Party
42P. T. Rajan04 Apr 193624 Aug 1936Justice Party
43Raja of Bobbili05 Nov 193404 Apr 1936Justice Party
44Raja of Bobbili05 Nov 193205 Nov 1934Justice Party
45B. Munuswamy Naidu27 Oct 193005 Nov 1932Justice Party
46P. Subbarayan04 Dec 192627 Oct 1930Unaffiliated
47Raja of Panagal19 Nov 192304 Dec 1926Justice Party
48Raja of Panagal11 Jul 192111 Sep 1923Justice Party
49A. Subbarayalu Reddiar17 Dec 192011 Jul 1921Justice Party


In conclusion, Tamil Nadu has had a total of 15 chief ministers all time. The current chief minister is Edappadi Palanisamy. He has been in office since February 2017. There have been many changes in Tamil Nadu politics over the years, but one thing that remains constant is the importance of the chief minister position.

Thank you for reading! I hope Tamil Nadu Chief Ministers List was helpful. If you have any questions, please leave a comment below.

1 thought on “A Complete List of Tamil Nadu Chief Ministers All Time”

Leave a Comment